Backup and Restore Projects

Backup Projects

Note: Only available to a PlanogramBuilder Administrator

PlanogramBuilder lets you create a local backup of your projects. The backup includes all projects from all users in your company.

To back up your planogram projects, follow these steps:

1.      Click on the Manage button. It will open a dialog with a list of your projects. (See Project List.)

image

2.      Click on the Backup button. This opens a file save dialog.

image

3.      Choose a local folder, optionally change the suggested file name and the Excel file format.

4.      Click Save to create the backup Excel file.

Tip: Before backing up projects, make sure to display the projects of all users in your project list. To do so, enable Share Projects for administrators (see Share All Projects).

Restore Projects

Note: Only available to a PlanogramBuilder Administrator

PlanogramBuilder lets you restore projects from an existing local backup. The process restores all the projects listed in the input file.

To restore your planogram projects, follow these steps:

1.      Click on the Manage button. It will open a dialog with a list of your projects. (See Project List.)

image

2.      Click on the Restore button. This opens a file open dialog.

image

3.      Choose the folder and the Excel file corresponding to the projects to restore.

4.      Click Open to restore the projects.

What happens exactly when you restore projects

·         Projects listed in the input file and that don’t exist in your project list are added to your project list. This is typically the case with projects that were deleted after your last backup.

·         Projects listed in the input file and that already exist in your project list overwrite the respective projects in your project list. Any changes made after the date of the input backup file will be lost.

·         Projects that already exist in your project list but not listed in the input file are left in your project list. No project is deleted.

Editing the Excel input file

The restore command must always use as a base an input file created by the backup command, but you can edit the Excel input file to update some project information and to remove any project that you don’t want to restore. To do such, open the input file in your Spreadsheet application and optionally do the following:

·         Delete one or several lines to prevent restoring some project(s). This way you can keep only the lines corresponding to the project you want to restore. Warning: very large projects can be on multiple lines. In this case, keep the line(s) with checksum 0 with the last line (showing a different checksum) of the project together.

·         Edit values in any of the following column: Name, Comment, Date Created, Date Modified, Template, Published, Owner, Sender, Category, Brand, Product Line. If you change values in these columns, make sure to use the exact same format as other lines and enter values that make sense. For example, don’t enter a non-existing username in the Owner field.

·         Important: Never edit the following columns: Project #, Data, Checksum.

·         Use Save As…, not Save to save your modified file: this way you will still have the original backup file.

Important Tip: Before Restore Projects, make sure to create a backup so you can revert in case something goes wrong.

Tip: Before Restore Projects, make sure to display the projects of all users in your project list. To do so, enable Share Projects for administrators (see Share All Projects).




PlanogramBuilder Light User Guide - © Copyright zVisuel, 2001-2020